keyboard_arrow_left See all news

Recent News

30 Mar, 2022 /
The London Book Fair
The London Book Fair Reveals Full 2022 Author Line-Up
The London Book Fair (LBF) has today announced the full line-up of authors due to appear...
25 Mar, 2022 /
The London Book Fair
The London Book Fair International Excellence Awards 2022: Winners Revealed
The winners of The London Book Fair (LBF) International Excellence Awards have been anno...
24 Mar, 2022 /
The London Book Fair
Sharjah Market Focus 2022 Authors and Programme at The London Book Fair Revealed
he London Book Fair, in partnership with the Sharjah Book Authority and the British Coun...
22 Mar, 2022 /
The London Book Fair
The London Book Fair Keynotes and Seminar Highlights Announced
Ben Okri and Louise Moore to deliver keynotes Main Stage introduced for 2022, featuring ...
17 Mar, 2022 /
The London Book Fair
Trailblazer Awards 2022 Shortlist Unveiled
 The shortlist for the 2022 Trailblazer Awards has been revealed today, celebrating nin...
The London Book Fair
/ 01 Apr, 2022
keyboard_arrow_left See all news

Hiroshi Hayakawa Receives The London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award 2022

London, 1 April 2022. The London Book Fair has today announced Hiroshi Hayakawa, President of Japanese publisher Hayakawa Publishing, as the recipient of the LBF Lifetime Achievement Award 2022.

Hiroshi Hayakawa is a leading light of Japanese publishing, having worked at independent family publisher Hayakawa Publishing Japan since 1965. Early in his career, as Vice President of the company, he managed foreign rights, acquiring a number of modern classics, including The Godfather, Jaws, Flowers for Algernon and Early Autumn. Upon becoming President, he brought a number of seminal titles to the Japanese market, including A Brief History of Time, Jurassic Park, Thinking Fast and Slow and The Remains of the Day. Over his thirty years as President, he has maintained Hayakawa Publishing’s prestigious literary fiction lists, while also being a vocal advocate for science fiction, mysteries and non-fiction titles, with his dedication to crime fiction earning him the Mystery Writers of America’s Ellery Queen Award in 1998.

Hiroshi Hayakawa, President of Hayakawa Publishing Japan, said: “I was most surprised and deeply honoured by The London Book Fair’s consideration. My selection for such a prestigious award is very humbling, especially when I look at the All Star list of prior recipients. This honour is not mine alone, it belongs to all the members of Hayakawa Publishing who have supported me all these years. I do look forward to being able to visit London before too long.”

Andy Ventris, Director at The London Book Fair, said: “We are delighted to name Hiroshi Hayakawa as the recipient of this year’s London Book Fair Lifetime Achievement Award, joining the illustrious alumni who have won this award since its inception nearly twenty years ago. For decades, Hiroshi has been a cornerstone of international publishing, bringing stories and voices from around the world to Japanese readers. His passion for the written word, and his championing of genre titles in particular, has changed the literary landscape of Japan and helped build the prestige of many of the most celebrated authors of our day.”

David Roche, Non-Executive Chairman, The London Book Fair, commented: The London Book Fair International Lifetime Achievement Award recognises an individual who has made a truly significant mark in the sphere of global publishing and has been awarded to a stellar list of winners since its inception. I am proud to chair the 2022 judging panel who have selected Hiroshi Hayakawa to be its latest recipient. Hiroshi stands proudly as a conductor, masterfully directing access to the complex Japanese market for the greatest international authors. He has facilitated stories from around the world in his 57 years at Hayakawa Publishing and 30 years as its president, and we are delighted to honour him in 2022.”

The Lifetime Achievement Award committee selected Hiroshi Hayakawa from a shortlist of leading international publishing figures.

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognises an individual who has made a truly significant mark in the sphere of global publishing. It is open to publishers, agents, editors, scouts and anyone else involved in international publishing from any country in the world.

Previous Lifetime Achievement Award Winners:

2021 – Margaret Busby, Allison & BusbyUK

2020 – Nigel Newton, Bloomsbury PublishingUK

2019 – Dorotea Bromberg, Brombergs Bokförlag, Sweden

2018 – Sara Miller McCune, Sage PublishingUS

2017 – Luiz Schwarcz, Companhia das LetrasBrazil

2016 – Gail, Baroness Rebuck DBE, Penguin Random HouseUK

2015 – Peter Usborne, Usborne, UK

2014 – Deborah Rogers, Rogers, Coleridge & White, UK

2013 – Michael Krüger, Hanser Verlag, Germany

2012 – Jorge HerraldeEditions Anagrama, Spain

2011 – Sonny Mehta, Alfred A. Knopf, Inc., US

2010 – Antoine Gallimard, Éditions Gallimard, France

2009 – Drenka Willen, Harcourt, USA

2008 – Peter Mayer, Overlook Press and DuckworthUK & USA

2007 – Lord Weidenfeld, Weidenfeld & NicolsonUK

2006 – Christopher MacLehose, MacLehose Press, UK

2005 – Lynette Owen, Pearson EducationUK

2004 – John Lyons, Little, Brown, UK & USA

The London Book Fair (LBF) is the largest spring book trade and publishing event in the world and will take place in person for the first time in two years at Olympia London, 5-7 April 2022.

Processing. Please wait.